The Genesis

  • Admission Closes on 22nd July 2024
  • Session Starts on 29th July 2024

Dr. Rajendra Kumar Joshi, born in Dundlod, Jhunjhunu District, Rajasthan, completed his schooling in Sadulpur, Churu District. He earned his Master's degree in Pharmacy at BITS Pilani, graduating with a Gold Medal in 1958, and obtained his Ph.D in 1968 from the University of Komensky, Slovakia.

Dr. Joshi served as a Research Associate and later as a Professor (Dozent) in Medicinal Chemistry at the Federal Institute of Switzerland, mentoring many Ph.D students.

Dr. Joshi's wife Mrs. Ursula Joshi founded a successful pharmacy in Littau (Luzern), overcoming initial challenges through determination and entrepreneurial spirit. She also served as an elected member of parliament in Littau for eight years and held the office of actuary for the Lucerne Pharmacists' Association.

The Joshis focused on replicating the Swiss model of skill development in India. They founded the 'Rajendra and Ursula Joshi Foundation' (JCF) in 2006 to introduce the Swiss Dual System of skills training to India. Thus they established the Bhartiya Skill Development Campus (BSDC) in Jaipur to demonstrate the system's benefits.

BSDC was inaugurated by Smt. Vasundhara Raje, the then Chief Minister of Rajasthan, on 23rd April 2016. An MoU was signed between the Government of Rajasthan and BSDC for the establishment of Bhartiya Skill Development University (BSDU).

The Rajendra and Ursula Joshi Charitable Trust (RUJCT) was created to sponsor BSDU, and the Government of Rajasthan established the university through an ordinance on 29th December 2016, later converted into The Bhartiya Skill Development University, Jaipur, Act No. 3 of 2017. Dr. Joshi was the founding Chairperson of BSDU.

Mrs. Ursula Joshi now chairs BSDU, which uniquely focuses on practical skills training based on "One Student - One Machine" concept. The university follows the Swiss Dual System of Training, offering world-class skills education and awarding UG, PG, and Ph.D degrees. BSDU is included in the University Grants Commission (UGC) 'List of Universities' established as per Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956.